Haryana sets up police stations to check power, water theft

Friday, February 4, 2011

CHANDIGARH - In a unique move, the Haryana government Friday announced the setting up of police stations to check the theft of power and canal water in the state.

Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda approved the proposal of setting up of eight special police stations to check the theft of power and canal water in the state, Irrigation Minister Ajay Singh Yadav said here.

Yadav said the chief minister had sanctioned posts of 356 police personnel, including officers, to meet the need of staff of special police stations. The force will be headed by a superintendent of police.

“This step would prove a boon to check the theft in an effective manner,” he said, adding that eight police stations would be set up at Kurukshetra, Panipat, Rohtak, Yamunanagar, Rewari, Hisar, Sirsa and Jind to ensure tail-end water to the fields and to check the pilferage of power sector in the state.

An additional director general of police rank officer would be designated for the irrigation and power wing along with other senior police officers to monitor cases of power and water theft.

Financial Commissioner and Principal Secretary (Home) Samir Mathur said that the territorial jurisdiction of the eight police stations has been decided in such a manner that the entire state has been covered.

Haryana has 21 districts in all.

The Kurukshetra police station will have jurisdiction for Panchkula, Ambala and Kurukshetra districts, Panipat police would cover Karnal, Panipat and Sonepat districts, Rohtak would cover Rohtak and Jhajjar districts, Jind will cover Jind and Kaithal districts.

Faridabad will cover Faridabad, Mewat and Palwal districts, Rewari would cover Gurgaon, Mahendergarh and Rewari districts, Hisar will cover Hisar and Bhiwani districts while Sirsa will cover Sirsa and Fatehabad districts.

Filed under: Accidents and Disasters

will not be displayed